OMER 11

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

RECORDS

2018

 

World speed record (4.94 knots)
First position in the general classification
First position for speed without propeller
First position for speed with propeller

2019

 

Better racing spirit

Innovation Award
First position in the general classification
First position for speed without propeller (4.78 knots)
First position for speed with propeller (6.85 knots)

 

PUSHING

INNOVATION

EVEN

FURTHER

Having already demonstrated our ability to perform well in each of the categories, we decided to go a step further and design a concept never seen before.

 

Omer 11 is therefore the creation of several months of work in order to push the limits of the manufacture of human powered submarines. It has the same hull shape has Omer X, thereby concentrating the team effort in other major elements such that the two drive modes, the mode control thereof and their manufacture.

Omer 11 is the first submarine to have two propulsion systems which it can interchange between races. The first system is a standard propeller propulsion system. It is fitted with precambered blades with variable pitch controlled from the on-board computer. It is also equipped with a propeller-less propeller system, similar to the one on Omer X. This system has been completely redesigned to reduce weight and reduce mechanical losses.

FIRST 

HYBRID

SUBMARINE

Propeller propulsion

PH_overall - Copie.jpg

The propeller propulsion of Omer 11 was designed to be adaptive and aggressive, promising higher speeds than those obtained by the club before.

 

The design and manufacture of the aluminum tail cone, both ETS made, allows a more resistant part without sacrificing buoyancy. Indeed, the cone was 3D printed to be able to include cavities in its walls and offer a lighter design.

In addition of being a marvel of engineering, the aluminum cone also allows the use of the monopale. This blade, longer than normal and pre-cambered, reduces propulsion losses caused by turbulence in systems with several blades. Indeed, the water agitated after the passage of a first blade has the effect of reducing the efficiency of the second. By using only one blade, the losses are thereby reduced. The length of the monopale and its pre-camber then compensate for propultion losses which results in a highly optimized system.

 

The only disadvantage of the monopale is its couple. Indeed, the moment of force created at the start of the race causes an imbalance and causes the submarine to rock. This effect can however be easily corrected using sinkers on the pitch side.

Propulsion without propeller

With the different propulsion systems of Omer X, we noticed that the biggest problem was the non-constant torque felt by the pilot. Indeed, pedaling in Omer X was like pedaling on a rocky road with random bumps. Changes had to be made.

 

The final version of the Omer 11 non-propeller propulsion system therefore consists of four mirage blades and is equipped with a cam and spring system in order to accumulate and dissipate energy when it is necessary so that the pilot feels constant torque and can thus give more power.

PSH_overall.tif

WHERE IS IT NOW?

Omer.test.2--9972.jpg

Omer 11 is still functional and is currently used during club presentations and demonstrations. It is also on display at the entrance to Pavilion D at the École de technologie supérieure de Montréal.

OMER 11

RECORDS

2018

Record mondial de vitesse (4.94 noeuds)
Première position au classement général
Première position pour la vitesse sans hélice
Première position pour la vitesse avec hélice

2019

Meilleur esprit des courses

Prix de l'innovation
Première position au classement général
Première position pour la vitesse sans hélice (4.78 noeuds)
Première position pour la vitesse avec hélice (6.85 noeuds)

POUSSER

L’INNOVATION

ENCORE

PLUS LOIN

Ayant déjà démontré notre capacité à bien performer dans chacune des catégories, nous nous avons décidé de faire un pas de plus et de concevoir un concept jamais vu auparavant.

Omer 11 est donc la créations de plusieurs mois de travail dans le but de pousser les limites de la fabrication de sous-marins à propulsion humaine. Il a la même forme de coque qu' Omer X, permettant ainsi de concentrer les efforts de l'équipe dans les autres éléments majeurs tel que les deux modes de propulsion, les mode de contrôle de ceux-ci et leur fabrication.

Omer 11 est le premier sous-marin à avoir deux systèmes de propulsion qu’il peut interchanger entre les courses. Le premier système est un système de propulsion standard à hélice. Il est équipé de pales précambrées avec pas variable contrôlé à partir de l’ordinateur de bord. Il est également équipé d’un système de propulsion sans-hélice, similaire à celui de Omer X. Ce système à été complètement revu afin de réduire le poids et réduire les pertes mécaniques.

PREMIER

SOUS-MARIN HYBRIDE

Propulsion à hélice

La propulsion à hélice d'Omer 11 a été conçue pour être adaptive et agressive, promettant des vitesses supérieuces à celles obtenues par le club auparavant. 

La conception et la fabrication du cône de queue en aluminium, faite à même l'ETS, permet d'avoir une pièce plus résistante sans toutefois sacrifier la flottabilité. En effet, le cône fut imprimé 3D pour pouvoir inclure des cavités dans ses parois et offrir une conception plus légère.

En plus d'être une merveille d'ingénierie, le cône d'aluminium permet aussi l'utilisation de la monopale. Cette pale, plus longue que la normale et pré-cambrée, permet de diminuer les pertes de propulsion causée par les turbulences des systèmes a plusieurs pales. En effet, l'eau agité après le passage d'une première pale a pour effet de diminuer l'efficacité de la seconde. En utilisant qu'une seule pale, on diminue du fait même les pertes. La longueur de la monopale et sa pré cambrure compensent alors les pertes de propultion ce qui résulte en un système fortement optimisé.

Le seul désaventage de la monopale réside en son couple. En effet, le moment de force créé lors du départ de la course cause un déséquilibre et fait tanguer le sous marin. Cet effet est cependant facilement corrigeable à l'aide de plombs du côté du tanguage.

Propulsion sans hélice

Avec les différents systèmes de propulsion d'Omer X, nous avons remarqué que le plus gros problème était le couple non constant ressenti par le pilote. En effet, pédaler dans Omer X c'était comme pédaler sur une route rocheuse avec des bosses aléatoires. Des modifications devaient alors être faites.

La version finale du système de propulsion sans hélice d'Omer 11 est donc constitué de quatres pales mirage et est équipé d'un système de came et de ressort afin d'accumuler et de dissiper l'énergie lorsqu'elle est nécessaire pour que le pilote ressente un couple constant et puisse ainsi donner plus de puissance. 

OÙ EST-IL RENDU ?

Omer 11 est toujours fonctionnel et est actuellement utilisé lors des présentations et des démonstrations du club. Il est d'ailleurs exposé à l'entrée du pavillon D de l'École de technologie supérieure de Montréal.

Notre emplacement

Nous contacter

École de technologie supérieure
1100, rue Notre-Dame Ouest, local D-2017
Montréal (Québec) H3C 1K3

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 Camille Morin pour OMER

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now