OMER 3

RECORDS

1998

 

First position for speed
First position for presentation
Speed: 6.977 knots

NEW RACE,

NEW

CHALLENGES

The Omer 3 submarine was designed to be more competitive during competitions. Indeed, the environement where the races were taking place changed drastically. These were no longer circuits that took place in the ocean. The races now were a straight line taking place in an indoor pool. Since the races were now held under controlled conditions, the safety requirements had decreased. The design and manufacture of Omer 3 were carried out during the period 1996-1997. It was used in competition until 1999.

 

The Omer 3 submarine is in the single-seater category. It is the first submarine of the club where the person providing the propulsion energy is also the pilot. This improvement allowed the reduction of the hull volume allowing an increase in the top speed of the submarine.

 

 

Thus, mechanically, the hull of the submarine has been completely redesigned. Building materials have also changed a lot. These are now layers of carbon fiber and kevlar with a honeycomb panel core ensuring zero buoyancy. In addition to this improvement, the design of the propeller has been further improved. As well as the steering and propulsion system.

 

As for the electrical plan, Omer 3 now uses Panama software. This software allows wireless communication between the submarine's on-board computer and a control center. This allows to read the telemetry of the submarine and to change the variable pitch control parameters between each test. Information is exchanged by a modem which sends the information to a surface buoy. This acts as a bridge between the surface and the water in which the submarine is located.

A WHOLE

NEW WAY

OF DOING THINGS

WHERE IS IT NOW?

The Omer 3 submarine is currently on display with respect and honor at the Montreal Science Center.

Our location

Contact us

École de technologie supérieure
1100, rue Notre-Dame Ouest, local D-2017
Montréal (Québec) H3C 1K3

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 Camille Morin for OMER

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

OMER 3

RECORDS

1998

 

Première position pour la vitesse
Première position pour la présentation
Vitesse : 6.977 nœuds

NOUVELLE COURSE, NOUVEAUX

 DÉFIS

Le sous-marin Omer 3  a été conçu dans le but d’être plus compétitif lors des compétitions. En effet, les lieux des courses changent drastiquement d’environnement. Il ne s’agit plus de circuits qui ont lieu dans l’océan. Désormais, les courses ont lieu en ligne droite dans un bassin intérieur. Puisque les courses se déroulent maintenant dans des conditions contrôlées, les exigences de sécurité ont diminué. Sa conception et sa fabrication ont été effectuées lors de la période 1996-1997. Il a été utilisé en compétition jusqu’en 1999.

Le sous-marin Omer 3 s’inscrit dans la catégorie monoplace. Il est le premier sous-marin du club où la personne fournissant l’énergie de propulsion est aussi le pilote. Cette amélioration permit la réduction du volume de la coque permettant une augmentation de la vitesse de pointe du sous-marin.

Ainsi, sur le plan mécanique, la coque du sous-marin a été complètement redessinée. Les matériaux de construction ont également beaucoup changé. Il s’agit maintenant de couches de fibres de carbone et de kevlar avec un noyau en panneau nid d’abeille assurant une flottabilité nulle. En plus de cette amélioration, le design de l’hélice a encore été amélioré. Ainsi que le système de direction et de propulsion.

Pour ce qui est du plan électrique, Omer 3 utilise maintenant le logiciel Panama. Ce logiciel permet une communication sans fil entre l’ordinateur de bord du sous-marin et un centre de contrôle. Ceci permet de lire la télémétrie du sous-marin et de changer les paramètres de contrôle du pas variable entre chaque essai. L’échange d’information se fait par un modem qui envoie l’information à une bouée de surface. Celle-ci fait office de pont entre la surface et l’eau dans laquelle se trouve le sous-marin.

UNE TOUT AUTRE  

FAÇON DE FAIRE

OÙ EST-IL RENDU ?

Le sous-marin Omer 3 est actuellement exposé avec respect et honneur au Centre des sciences de Montréal.

Notre emplacement

Nous contacter

École de technologie supérieure
1100, rue Notre-Dame Ouest, local D-2017
Montréal (Québec) H3C 1K3

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 Camille Morin pour OMER

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now