OMER 6

RECORDS

2006

 

World speed record (4.642 knots)
First position in the general classification
First position for speed in its category
Special mention for innovation
Special mention for design

OUR FIRST SUBMARINE

WITHOUT PROPELLER

The Omer 6 submarine was built during the 2006-2007 period. This submarine was built with the aim of participating in a category where the club had never appeared before, namely submarines powered without propellers. The challenge required the design of a new propulsion system which was developed by the team.

 

The solution found consists of a flapping of wings on each side of the hull which move up and down. In addition, the hull of the submarine is made of carbon fibers with a core of high density foam.

To date, it is the fastest single-seater submarine without propeller. From his first competition, he shattered a new world record: 4,642 knots. This mark was then improved during the “10th International Submarine Race” in Bethesda (Maryland US) in 2009 to reach 4,916 knots thanks to new wings.

STILL THE

FASTEST SUBMARINE EVER BUILT

PROJECT LIFE AMPHIBIOUS

The Omer club also took up a new challenge and was used to make the last leg of the fantastic journey of Odysseus, the king of Ithaca when he returned from the Trojan War to Greece.

 

Lloyd Godson, marine biologist and aquanaut was the instigator of this project called Life Amphibious. The epic journey took the submarine in the footsteps of the Greek hero with a journey from the island of Kefalonia to that of Ithaca.

A very different challenge from our usual 100-meter races because the team had to deal with distance, salt water and the marine environment. The submarine was therefore sent to Greece before being launched. During this journey, Lloyd pedaled a distance of 25 km to 7 meters deep. This excursion demonstrated another aspect of the Omer team, its ability to adapt to new challenges and transcend its discipline.

 

See the full article here: http://www.lloydgodson.com/life-amphibious.html

WHERE IS IT NOW?

Omer 6 is now retiring (more than deserved) at Cégep de Jonquière

Our location

Contact us

École de technologie supérieure
1100, rue Notre-Dame Ouest, local D-2017
Montréal (Québec) H3C 1K3

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 Camille Morin for OMER

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

OMER 6

RECORDS

2006

Record mondial de vitesse (4.642 nœuds)
Première position au classement général
Première position pour la vitesse dans sa catégorie
Mention spéciale pour l’innovation
Mention spéciale pour le design

NOTRE TOUT PREMIER SOUS-MARIN

SANS HÉLICE

Le sous-marin Omer 6 a été construit lors de la période 2006-2007. Ce sous-marin a été construit dans le but de participer dans une catégorie où le club ne s’était jamais présenté auparavant, soit les sous-marins propulsés sans hélice. Le défi demandait la conception d’un nouveau système de propulsion qui a été développé par l’équipe.

La solution trouvée consiste en un battement d’ailes de chaque côté de la coque qui se déplacent de haut en bas. De plus, la coque du sous-marin est composée de fibres de carbone avec un noyau de mousse à haute densité.

À ce jour, il est le sous-marin sans hélice monoplace le plus rapide. Dès sa première compétition, il fracassa un nouveau record du monde: 4.642 nœuds. Cette marque fut ensuite améliorée lors de la « 10th International Submarine Race » à Bethesda (Maryland US) en 2009 pour atteindre 4.916 nœuds grâce à de nouvelles ailes.

LE PLUS RAPIDE

À CE JOUR

PROJECT LIFE AMPHIBIOUS

Le club Omer releva également un nouveau défi et fut utilisé pour faire la dernière étape du voyage fantastique d’Ulysse, le roi d’Ithaque lors de son retour de la guerre de Troie vers la Grèce. 

Lloyd Godson, biologiste marin et aquanaute fut l’instigateur de ce projet appelé Life Amphibious. L’épopée emmena le sous-marin sur les traces du héros grec avec un parcours de l’île de Céphalonie jusqu’à celle d’Ithaque.

Un défi très différent de nos habituelles courses de 100 mètres car l’équipe devait composer avec la distance, l’eau salée et l’environnement marin. Le sous-marin fût donc envoyé en Grèce avant d’être mis à l’eau. Au cours de ce périple, Lloyd a pédalé sur une distance de 25 km à 7 mètres de profondeur. Cette excursion démontra un autre aspect de l’équipe Omer, sa capacité à s’adapter au nouveau défi et à transcender sa discipline.

Voir l'article complet à ce sujet ici: http://www.lloydgodson.com/life-amphibious.html

Parutions d'OMER 6

Vidéo YouTube, tests en piscine : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mz2UGLLeusg

Vidéo YouTube, tests en piscine : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vh46yot1u9A

Vidéo YouTube, fabrication d'Omer 6 : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOCT4aE_IE0

OÙ EST-IL RENDU ?

Omer 6 prend maintenant une retraite plus que méritée au Cégep de Jonquière 

Notre emplacement

Nous contacter

École de technologie supérieure
1100, rue Notre-Dame Ouest, local D-2017
Montréal (Québec) H3C 1K3

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 Camille Morin pour OMER

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now