OMER 9

RECORDS

2014

 

First position in the general classification
First position for absolute speed
First position for agility

AN

OPTIMIZED

SUBMARINE

With the experience acquired with OMER 8 and following the world record in the category "single-seater with propeller", the team embarked on the design and manufacture of OMER 9, a two-seater propeller, and this in order to beat the absolute speed record held by OMER 5 (8.035 knots).

Following the principles of the previous submarine, the team set out to design a hull with reduced dimensions while remaining ergonomic. For the first time, this was done by alternating fiberglass with basalt fiber. In addition, the propulsion was optimized to the maximum in order to increase its efficiency. Coupled with the principle of electric variable pitch developed for OMER 8, the submarine thus ensured that a maximum of power developed by pedalers could be used to propel the submarine as quickly as possible.

The first competition of the submarine, taking place in England, required to pass a slalom. It was important that the submarine remained manageable. For this, an electric steering was developed. This, coupled with the fins at the rear of the submarine allowed us to win for the second time the European International Submarine Races, with a first place both for speed and for the agility test against smaller single-seater submarines.

COMBINING

 SPEED

AND

  AGILITY

Released on July 25, 2014 on the Lien Multimedia website at the following link: http://www.lienmultimedia.com/?article43232

OMER 9 in the press!

WHERE IS IT NOW?

Omer 9 is now retired and not functional. However, it serves as a model and visibility for the club. It is also proudly exhibited at the École de Technologie Supérieure in Montreal.

Our location

Contact us

École de technologie supérieure
1100, rue Notre-Dame Ouest, local D-2017
Montréal (Québec) H3C 1K3

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 Camille Morin for OMER

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

OMER 9

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom

RECORDS

2014

 

Première position au classement général
Première position pour la vitesse absolue
Première position pour l'agilité

UN

SOUS-MARIN

OPTIMISÉ

Fort de son expérience avec OMER 8 et suite au record du monde dans la catégorie «monoplace avec hélice», l’équipe se lança dans la conception et la fabrication d’OMER 9, un biplace à hélice, et ce dans le but de battre le record absolu de vitesse détenu par OMER 5 (8,035 nœuds).

Suivant les principes du précédent sous-marin, l’équipe s’attela à concevoir une coque aux dimensions réduites tout en restant ergonomiques. Pour la première fois, celle-ci fût faite en alternant de la fibre de verre avec de la fibre de basalte. De plus, la propulsion fût optimisé au maximum afin d’en augmenter l’efficacité. Couplé avec le principe de pas variable électrique développé pour OMER 8, le sous-marin s’assurait ainsi qu’un maximum de puissance développé par les pédaleurs puisse être utilisée pour propulser le sous-marin aussi vite que possible.

La première compétition du sous-marin se passant en Angleterre, compétition nécessitant de passer un slalom, il était important que le sous-marin demeure maniable. Pour cela, une direction électrique fut développée. Celle-ci, couplée aux ailerons à l’arrière du sous-marin, nous permis de remporter pour la seconde fois les european International Submarine Races, avec une première place à la fois pour la vitesse et pour l’épreuve d’agilité face à des sous-marins monoplaces plus petits.

ALLIER  VITESSE

ET

 AGILITÉ

Paru le 25 juillet 2014 sur le site web du Lien Multimédia au lien suivant: http://www.lienmultimedia.com/?article43232 

OMER 9 dans la presse!

Capture d’écran 2020-05-01 à 11.50.09.
Capture d’écran 2020-05-01 à 11.50.09.

press to zoom
Capture d’écran 2020-05-01 à 11.50.09.
Capture d’écran 2020-05-01 à 11.50.09.

press to zoom
1/1

OÙ EST-IL RENDU ?

11667414_492353610918337_309392175724203

Omer 9 est maintenant retraité et non fonctionnel. Il sert toutefois de modèle et de visibilité pour le club. Il est d'ailleurs exposé fièrement à l'école de Technologie supérieure de Montréal.